The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) was formed to create a national voice to advocate for the unique and diverse health needs of AA and NH/PI communities and the community health providers that serve their needs.


To be a national leader and critical voice for Asian American (AA), Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islander (NH/PI) community health centers (CHCs) and consumers, ensuring that our communities have better access to affordable, high quality, and culturally and linguistically proficient health care.


AAPCHO is dedicated to promoting advocacy, collaboration, and leadership that improves the health status and access of AAs and NH/PIs within the United States, its territories, and freely associated states, primarily through our member CHCs.

Our Story

About AAPCHO Info Sheet (PDF)

The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) was formed in 1987 by CHCs primarily serving medically underserved AAs and NH/PIs. The goal of these organizations was to create a national voice to advocate for the unique and diverse health needs of AA and NH/PI communities and the community health providers that served those needs.

Since that time, we have advocated for policies and programs that improve the provision of health care services that are community-driven, financially affordable, linguistically accessible, and culturally appropriate.

Advocacy Work »

Among other things, we develop, test, and evaluate health education and promotion programs with national significance. We also offer technical assistance and training to promote the establishment and expansion of services for medically underserved AA and NH/PI communities. And lastly, as a unified voice of our membership, we share our collective knowledge and experience with policymakers at the national, state, and local levels. For more on our story, read about our Guiding Principles and Values.

Learn About Our Programs »

Board of Directors

AAPCHO’s Board of Directors has a governing role over the organization’s policies and priorities. The Board is comprised of the Executive Director (unless otherwise appointed) of each member organization that holds full membership status with AAPCHO, and a Consumer Advocate At-large. Many of AAPCHO’S Board Members are nationally recognized leaders and have decades of experience delivering primary care services to medically underserved AAs and NH/PIs. To learn more about each Board Member, click on their name below.

Christian Kimo Alameda

Board Member
CEO, Bay Clinic, Inc.

Darrin Sato

Board President
COO, Kalihi-Palama Health Center

Eddie Chan

Board Secretary
President & CEO, North East Medical Services

Elaine Tso

Board Member
CEO, ASIA-International Community Health Center

Eugene Welch

Board Member
CEO/Executive Director, South Cove Community Health Center

Gildas Cheung

Board Consumer Advocate At-Large
Board Chair, International Community Health Services

Kaushal Challa

Chief Executive Officer
Charles B. Wang Community Health Center

Mary Oneha

Board Member
CEO, Waimanalo Health Center

Nena Tolenoa

Board Member
Executive Director, Kosrae Community Health Center

Richard Bettini

Board Treasurer
CEO, Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center

Sherry Hirota

Board Immediate Past President
CEO, Asian Health Services

Teresita Batayola

Board Member
CEO, International Community Health Services


AAPCHO staff brings a diverse range of knowledge, experience, expertise, and language and cultural competence to the organization.  To learn more about a member of our team, click on their name below.

Jeffrey Caballero

Executive Director
(510) 272-9536

Jen Lee
Deputy Director
(510) 272-9536
Adam P. Carbullido

Director of Policy and Advocacy
(202) 372-7158

Albert Ayson, Jr.

Associate Director, Training and Technical Assistance
(917) 584-2558

Allan Gamboa

Program Director, Pacific Islander Diabetes Prevention Program

Beverly Quintana

Director of Strategy and Impact
(510) 500-5944

Brianna Pascua

Executive Coordinator

Cara Skillingstead

Program Coordinator of Training and Technical Assistance

Evelyn Moua

Program Manager, Tuberculosis Elimination

Joe Lee
Director of Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships
(510) 909-9299
John Nguyen-Yap
Associate Director, Health Equity
Julia Liu
Research Assistant
Justin Santos
Data Specialist
Kristine Cecile Alarcon
Associate Manager, Communications and Engagement
(510) 671-5054
Peter Ho
Director of Operations
(510) 272-9536
Rosy Chang Weir

Director of Research
(510) 272-9536

Sakura Miyazaki
Program Manager, Training and Technical Assistance
Sean Rodriguez
Data Evaluator
Susan Oudommahavanh

Senior Accounting Associate

Vanessa Wan
Program Assistant
Vivian (Jiabai) Li

Research Project Manager/Analyst
(510) 272-9536