About

The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) was formed to create a national voice to advocate for the unique and diverse health needs of AA and NH/PI communities and the community health providers that serve their needs.

Vision

To be a national leader and critical voice for Asian American (AA), Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander (NH/PI) community health centers (CHCs) and consumers, ensuring that our communities have better access to affordable, high quality, and culturally and linguistically proficient health care.

Mission

AAPCHO is dedicated to promoting advocacy, collaboration, and leadership that improves the health status and access of AAs and NH/PIs within the United States, its territories, and freely associated states, primarily through our member CHCs.

Our Story

About AAPCHO Info Sheet (PDF)

The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) was formed in 1987 by CHCs primarily serving medically underserved AAs and NH/PIs. The goal of these organizations was to create a national voice to advocate for the unique and diverse health needs of AA and NH/PI communities and the community health providers that served those needs.

Since that time, we have advocated for policies and programs that improve the provision of health care services that are community-driven, financially affordable, linguistically accessible, and culturally appropriate.

Advocacy Work »

Among other things, we develop, test, and evaluate health education and promotion programs with national significance. We also offer technical assistance and training to promote the establishment and expansion of services for medically underserved AA and NH/PI communities. And lastly, as a unified voice of our membership, we share our collective knowledge and experience with policymakers at the national, state, and local levels. For more on our story, read about our Guiding Principles and Values.

Learn About Our Programs »

Board of Directors

AAPCHO’s Board of Directors has a governing role over the organization’s policies and priorities. The Board is comprised of the Executive Director (unless otherwise appointed) of each member organization that holds full membership status with AAPCHO, and a Consumer Advocate At-large. Many of AAPCHO’S Board Members are nationally recognized leaders and have decades of experience delivering primary care services to medically underserved AAs and NH/PIs. To learn more about each Board Member, click on their name below.

Thu Quach

Board President
President, Asian Health Services

Kaushal Challa

Board Vice President
CEO, Charles B. Wang Community Health Center

Eddie Chan

Board Secretary
President & CEO, North East Medical Services

Richard Bettini

Board Treasurer
CEO, Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center

Darrin Sato

Immediate Past Board President
COO, Kalihi-Palama Health Center

Denice Keliikoa

Consumer Board Member
Board Director, Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center

Diem Nguyen

Board Member
CEO, NOELA Community Health Center

Eric Tiberi

Board Member
Executive Director/CEO, South Cove Community Health Center

Gildas Cheung

Consumer Board Member
Board Chair, International Community Health Services

Julia Liou

Board Alternate
CEO, Asian Health Services

Kelli Nomura

Board Member
CEO, International Community Health Services

Mary Oneha

Board Member
Executive Director, Waimānalo Health Center

Nena Tolenoa

Board Member
Executive Director, Kosrae Community Health Center

Renee Rego

Board Alternate
Board Director, Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center

Zita Pangelinan

Board Member
Program Coordinator IV, Guam Community Health Centers

Board Representative – TBD

Asian Services in Action

Staff

AAPCHO staff brings a diverse range of knowledge, experience, expertise, and language and cultural competence to the organization.  To learn more about a member of our team, click on their name below.

Jeffrey Caballero

Executive Director
(510) 272-9536
jeffc@aapcho.org

Jen Lee
Deputy Director
(510) 272-9536
jlee@aapcho.org
Adam P. Carbullido

Director of Policy and Advocacy
(202) 372-7158
acarbullido@aapcho.org

Beverly Quintana

Director of Strategy and Impact
(510) 500-5944
bquintana@aapcho.org

Brianna Pascua

Executive Coordinator
bpascua@aapcho.org

Cara Skillingstead

Associate Director, Health Care Transformation
cskillingstead@aapcho.org

Chibo Shinagawa

Senior Program Manager, Infectious Diseases
cshinagawa@aapcho.org

Christine Ko

Research Manager
cko@aapcho.org

Dionne Nguyen
Communications and Member Services Coordinator
dnguyen@aapcho.org
Eshjel Escano Cañete

Accounting Associate
ecanete@aapcho.org

Gabrielle Peñaranda

Program Manager, Training and Technical Assistance
gpenaranda@aapcho.org

Ivy Yuson
Program Coordinator, Training and Technical Assistance
iyuson@aapcho.org
John Nguyen-Yap
Director of Programs, Community Initiatives
jnguyenyap@aapcho.org
Ken Liang
Director of Finance and HR
kliang@aapcho.org
Marta Alvarez
Executive Assistant
malvarez@aapcho.org
Mukta Deia
Program Coordinator, Infectious Diseases
mdeia@aapcho.org
Nashia Choudhury
Director of Programs, Health Care Transformation
nchoudhury@aapcho.org
Paulo Dela Cruz
Development and Special Projects Coordinator
pdelacruz@aapcho.org
Peter Ho
Director of Operations
(510) 272-9536
peter@aapcho.org
Rosy Chang Weir

Director of Research
(510) 272-9536
rcweir@aapcho.org

Sean Rodriguez
Data Evaluator
srodriguez@aapcho.org
Susan Oudommahavanh

Associate Director of Operations
soudommahavanh@aapcho.org